Cow Hollow Walking Tour, photo by Joyce Slayton

San Francisco Neon Tours Celebrate Luminous Signs
Past & Present

Nikki Collister, Hoodline.com

 

"From the the vibrant glow of the Balboa Theater to the bubbling martini glass outside the 500 Club, neon signs are beacons for some of the city’s most beloved neighborhood establishments. And while some have been lovingly restored, others run the risk of going dark. That’s why one local couple has taken to the streets—not in protest, but in celebration."

Read more...

Spend an evening under the neon glow with SF Neon authors  Al Barna and Randall Ann Homan. Tours feature local history with architectural and graphic design insights to San Francisco's unique legacy of surviving neon signs. Photography and a lively Q&A are encouraged. Be prepared to walk 2 miles for 1.5 hours, with rest stops. Tours start just before twilight. Contact us for questions or to request a custom tour for a private group.

 

Reservations: $18 Regular and $10 Students/Teachers/Seniors. Purchase tickets via Ticketleap. Please include your cell number—in case of any last-minute changes. We'll email you the start time, location, and all the details for your tour, including public transit and parking tips.

 

Small Print: Requests for cancellation with full refund can be made 48 hours prior to the  tour start time. Please note that we reserve the right to change/cancel the tour due to obstructions, stormy weather, or insufficient reservations. Canceled tours will be fully refunded. All participants agree to assume 100% responsibility for their own safety, conduct, and well-being, and recognize that possible hazards exist while participating in outdoor (or any other) activities; and agree to participate solely at their own risk. If you join this group, and if you click the reserve button, and/or attend any Giant Orange Press events; it shall be conclusively presumed you understand and agree to this policy.

 

 

Thanks for making every tour a sellout:


Cow Hollow

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Nov 21, 2015

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Nov 28, 2015

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Dec 6, 2015

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Dec 19, 2015

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Jan 9, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Nov 26, 2016

 

Chinatown

SOLD OUT  Saturday, July 11, 2015

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Aug 8, 2015

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Aug 29, 2015

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Sept 12, 2015
SOLD OUT  Saturday, Sept 26, 2015

SOLD OUT  Sunday, July 24, 2016

SOLD OUT  Sunday, Aug 14, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Dec 3, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Feb 4, 2017

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Feb 25, 2017

 

Chinatown Art Deco Society Frolic

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Feb 6, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Feb 7, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, March 12, 2016

 

Market-Mission-Castro

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Feb 27, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, March 19, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, March 26, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, April  9, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, Dec 17, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday, March 4, 2017

 

Tender-Nob

SOLD OUT  Saturday, July 9, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday July 16, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday August 27, 2016

SOLD OUT  Saturday Sept 17, 2016

2017 neon Walking Tours

Chinatown Tour
Reserve

 

April 15, 2017

Look up to find forgotten clusters of vintage neon signs
in the streets of Chinatown, back alleys and back stories
are included.

Cow Hollow Tour
Reserve

 

Apr 1, 2017

Wander between Lombard and  Chestnut Streets and discover vintage neon signs for motels, movie theaters, psychics, donuts, and a diving lady.

Market-Mission-Castro Reserve

 

Mar 19, 2017

Flow through corners of three neighborhoods, from the stunning Castro marquee to
the city's largest neon martini glass at the 500 Club.

Tender-Nob Tour

Reserve

 

May 6, 2017

From the gritty to the sublime,  zig zag through the historic corridors of Ellis, O'Farrell, Geary, Post, Sutter, and Bush Streets, all the way up to grand views of Pine Street.

Neon Tour Passport

Purchase a 4-tour gift certificate passport booklet for friends or yourself. 1 person for 4 tours or 2 people for 2 tours, etc. Passports will be officially stamped at the end of each tour.  Contact Us for more information.

All photos and content © 2017 Al Barna and Randall Ann Homan